The United States Air Force Band   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

Home > Col. Arnald D. Gabriel Award

Photo of Col. Arnald D. Gabriel
Colonel Arnald D. Gabriel retired from the United States Air Force in 1985 following a distinguished 36-year military career, at which time he was awarded an unprecedented third Legion of Merit for his service to the United States Air Force and to music education throughout the country. He served as commander and conductor of The United States Air Force Band from 1964 to 1985, and in 1990, was named the Band's first conductor emeritus at a special concert held at DAR Constitution Hall in Washington, D.C. Gabriel was awarded the first Citation of Excellence given by the National Band Association, the Mid-West Clinic's Gold Medal of Honor and its Distinguished Service to Music Award. Col. Gabriel was inducted into the National Band Association Hall of Fame of Distinguished Band Conductors, becoming the youngest person ever to have received this honor. He is also a past president of the prestigious American Bandmasters Association.
Colonel Arnald D. Gabriel Award For a New Symphonic Band Composition

This prestigious competition, named for the conductor emeritus of The United States Air Force Band, solicits unpublished works for symphonic band. Applicants must be citizens or legal permanent residents of the United States. Persons currently involved in a military music program or who have been commissioned to write a composition for an Air Force Band are not eligible to compete. When a composition is selected, the United States Air Force Concert Band will produce a professional quality recording for the winner and perform the composition during a special concert. Additionally, the winner will have an opportunity to receive a $5,000 follow on commission for an additional work.

Content Tools
 Contact Col. Arnald D. Gabriel Award staff  icon Download printable flyer
 E-mail a friend or student about this competition

Kathryn Salfelder - 2009 Col. Arnald D. Gabriel Award Winner2009 Winner
Kathryn Salfelder

Kathryn Salfelder is fast gaining national recognition as a rising young composer. Recent awards include the 2008 ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell Prize, the 2008 Ithaca College Walter Beeler Memorial Composition Prize, an Encore Grant from the American Composers Forum, and first place in the Charles B. Olsen Composition Competition.

Ms. Salfelder was a finalist in the 2008 & 2009 ASCAP Morton Gould Student Composer Awards, and her Three Fanfares for Brass Quintet was selected as the winning score in the 2008 New England Conservatory Honors Ensemble Competition. Other honors include the 2005 MEA Eric Steiner Memorial Award, the 2005 New York Art Ensemble Emerging Composer Award, and numerous first and second place awards in the MTNA New Jersey and Eastern Division Composition Competitions. Her autobiographical chapter on the compositional process is featured in Composers on Composing for Band, Vol. 4 (GIA Publications, 2009).

An accomplished performer, Ms. Salfelder has served as resident associate conductor and rehearsal pianist for the Fiddlehead Theatre Company (Norwood, Massachusetts) and pianist for the New England Conservatory Wind Ensemble and Jordan Winds. She has also appeared on New England Conservatory's Composer's Series, Tuesday Night New Music and Chamber Music concerts, was twice featured as soloist with the North Jersey Symphony Orchestra, and won the 2003 and 2001 Andrew George De Grado Solo Piano Competitions.

Ms. Salfelder holds a BM in Composition with Academic Honors from New England Conservatory, where she studied with Michael Gandolfi. At NEC, she was awarded the 2009 Donald Martino Award for Excellence in Composition, the 2009 George Chadwick Medal, NEC's highest undergraduate honor, and was the recipient of annual merit awards from NEC, the Elks National Foundation and the Carpe Diem Foundation of Illinois. In Fall 2009, she will begin graduate studies in composition at the Yale School of Music.

Previous Winners
2007 Joseph Turrin
Clifton, NJ

2005 Michael A. Mogensen
Hagerstown, MD

1994 Michael Weinstein
Concord, MA

1993 James Syler
San Antonio, TX

 Inside The USAF Band

ima cornerSearch

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act